What Happens When You Get Caught Speeding in Colorado?
Speeding is one of the most common contributing causes of motor vehicle accidents. In 2016, Colorado recorded 216-speed related fatalities; it’s a statistic that represented 35% of all motor vehicle deaths that year. This was 61 deaths more than the stated goal of less than 150 and prompted increased speed enforcement efforts from Pueblo to Fort Collins. When drivers speed in Colorado, there are some hefty penalties to pay.
Fines & Jail
Drivers ticketed for speeds in Colorado that are 1-4 mph greater than posted speeds or in excess of those that are safe for conditions must pay $30. This increases to $70 for violations between 5 to 9 mph. From there, it rises to $135 for speeds of 10 to 19 mph over the posted speed limit or speeds that are safe for conditions.
At 20 to 24 mph, the fine increases to $200. Anything above 25 mph over the posted or prudent speed can result in a fine of between $150 to $300; and, because it’s a Class 2 misdemeanor, it comes with a minimum ten-day stay in jail and a maximum stay of up to 90 days.
At 25 mph or more beyond posted or prudent speed in a construction zone, individuals can receive a minimum fine of $300. This can go as high as $1,000. Further, individuals must serve a minimum of ten days in jail, and the courts have the discretion to extend that to as much as one year.
* Individuals must also pay surcharges, court costs, and attorney fees as applicable to their case.
Colorado Law Enforcement Agencies Are Cracking Down on Drivers in a Hurry
Law enforcement agencies across the state are cracking down on speeding drivers. Denver, Boulder, Larimer, and many other counties have received grants from the state legislature to enhance speed enforcement efforts. This means more patrols throughout the day, the installation of traffic cameras, and less likelihood that speeding drivers will get a “warning” the next time their lead foot gets a bit heavy. The bottom line for drivers is to slow down, stay alive, and save your money.
Contact Sloat, Nicholson, & Hoover, P.C. at (303) 447-1144 to speak with a Colorado motor vehicle accident attorney. We are happy to schedule a free consultation to discuss your claim when you are injured by a speeding driver.
Articles and information to keep you up to date on personal injury news.
What Questions Should You Ask in a Free Legal Consultation?
A free legal consultation is an opportunity to understand better the legal issues surrounding your claim and the options available for pursuing compensation for your injuries. Most consultations
Responsibility for Damages When a Dog Bites Another Dog
Many dog breeds are territorial and will act aggressively to other dogs who they perceive as a threat to their dominance. To protect dogs, cats, and their owners,
The Cost of Medical Bills Adds up Quickly in Colorado
Healthcare in Colorado comes at a price. Sometimes, that price can result in astronomical medical bills. When you are injured in a car accident, work-related accident, dog bite,