Criteria for a Colorado Car Accident
Nearly 27,000 car crashes occurred in Colorado in 2017. Whether you're driving through wintery mountain passes, or crawling through rush hour traffic in Denver or Boulder, a car accident is a risk no matter how good of a driver you are. A car accident in Colorado can have specific terms and laws associated which help us understand your rights and access to compensation. Here are some local Colorado regulations which are important to understand.
What Is the Statute of Limitations?
If you are in a Colorado car accident you have approximately 3 years to file your case. This does not mean you should wait until the very last minute to file it, of course. It's in your best interest to file a claim as soon as or soon after the car accident.
Types of Damages
If you decide to file a car accident claim, you can seek damages for several different things. One common and expensive claim is car repair or replacement. Other types of damages include:
- Loss of income or lost wages if you are unable to work
- Medical expenses, including medical bills, equipment or machines you might need to use in your home, hiring a caretaker, paying for rehabilitation, etc.
- If your car needs to get fixed and you need a temporary car in the meantime you will need a rental car. This is not something you would want to pay for out of your own pocket, especially if you need it for weeks or months.
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of affection or companionship
Damages usually fall under 2 types; economic and non-economic. An example of economic damage may include past and future medical expenses, loss of income, and other out of pocket expenses. Non-economic damages may include disabilities, disfigurement, injuries that are long-term, emotional pain and distress, etc.
Colorado insurance laws dictate the following when it comes to coverage:
- $25,000 for liability for bodily injuries per person,
- $50,000 total for liability for injuries if more than one person is injured, and
- $15,000 in coverage for liability for others’ property damage.
If you've been injured in a Colorado car accident and you're wondering what steps you should take next, contact Sloat & Nicholson for a free consultation today by visiting their website or calling 1-800-873-3202.