Know the Law Before You Go for a Ride
Motorists and bicyclists in Colorado have the same rights and responsibilities. Knowing the “rules of the road” is the best way to avoid the need for a bicycle accident lawyer down the road. Before your next ride, make sure you brush up on your knowledge of cycling laws, starting with the following.
- Ride on the shoulder or within a marked bike lane. If a shoulder or bike lane is not available, unstable, or is otherwise unsafe, stay as close to the right side of the road as possible.
- It is only permissible to ride two abreast when it does not impede the flow of traffic.
- You must use signal turns. You can do this via hand gesture, or via an electronic signal affixed to your bicycle.
- Bicyclists must have a white front light and a rear red light attached to their bicycle for after hours rides or in low-light conditions. A reflector is not sufficient under the law, or to keep you safe, because most do not make the rider visible for the law’s required 600 ft.
- Always audibly notify cyclists ahead of you when you intend to pass them on the road or on a trail.
- Follow the speed limit. For most paths, the speed limit is 15 mph.
- When riding an electric bike, know when and where you can use the electric assist. Riders in Boulder can use the electric assist on paved bike and pedestrian paths, but many Colorado communities do not allow for this.
- When riding on federal property, including Rocky Mountain National Park, e-bikes are considered motorized vehicles. This means they are only allowed on trails marked for motorized traffic.
- Brake systems must be well-maintained and capable of facilitating a complete stop within 25 feet on clean, level pavement at a speed of 10 mph.
- Bicyclists must yield the right of way to pedestrians.
- Bicyclists are prohibited from operating a bicycle while intoxicated.
- The “3 Feet to Pass” law applies on all roads. This means when motorists pass a bicyclist, they are required to keep at least 3-feet of distance between their vehicle (including all projections) and the cyclist.
The team at Sloat, Nicholson & Hoover, P.C., invite you to contact us at (303) 447-1144. When you have questions for a bicycle accident lawyer in Boulder, it is our pleasure to give you the answers you need.
Articles and information to keep you up to date on personal injury news.
How Do You Calculate Rehabilitation Costs?
Colorado statutes allow motor vehicle accident survivors to pursue compensation for damages, including personal injuries and the ensuing rehabilitation costs. It is crucial to correctly calculate these, because
What To Do When Your Classic Car Suffers Catastrophic Damage
You've worked hard to restore your classic car. Whether it's a Model A, Mustang, Porsche, or another ride, your labor and love have restored it to glory and
Knowing the Law Is the Best Way To Avoid Speeding Tickets (And Accidents!)
Speed limits exist to keep motorists and pedestrians safe. Because different roads and routes have different hazards, the posted speed limits vary significantly. In Colorado, ignorance of the