What Is The Wrongful Death Statute Of Limitations In Colorado?
When a person dies, their family will go through the grieving process as they focus on moving on with their life and paying off any final costs, including any medical bills and funeral expenses. It becomes more difficult when the death is caused by the wrongful actions of another person.
If you live in Colorado and plan on filing a wrongful death lawsuit, you should be aware of the wrongful death statute of limitations. These limitations are a period of time in which you can bring forth legal action against a person or company.
As of 2018, the wrongful death statute of limitations is set at 2 years for Colorado. However, even though you have 2 years to file the claim, it’s important to file it as soon as you can. Contacting a lawyer to help you through the process to stay on the right track when making your claim can help you deal with the loss of a loved one.
Can A Limitation Be Extended?
In some rare cases, the 2-year time limit for wrongful death statute of limitations can be extended. This can happen if the wrongful death was the result of an auto accident or when the time of discovery is not apparent or it was the death of an underage person.
Causes Of Wrongful Death
The phrase wrongful death makes many automatically think of a workplace accident, a defective drug, or even medical malpractice, but there are several different types of wrongful death:
- Boating and Water accidents
- Accidental Drownings
- Motor vehicle accidents (including public transportation)
Types Of Damages
What types of damages are claimed in a wrongful death lawsuit? While the cost of losing a loved one can never be truly compensated for, the following are claims that are made.
Financial Damages: This includes burial and funeral expenses, medical expenses, and any other final expenses that need to be covered due to the death.
Loss Wages: Both loss of present and future wages because of your loved one passing away. Spouses, children, or even parents of the deceased can sue for this compensation.
Emotion Turmoil: If you have emotional distress because of the loved one’s death, PTSD, anxiety, stress, etc or if you have a loss of companionship these can all be considered when it comes to compensation.
If you have a loved one that passed away because of the recklessness of someone else, contact a lawyer today.
For a Free Consultation or for more information on wrongful death claims contact Sloat & Nicholson at 1-800-873-3202 or 303-447-1144.
Articles and information to keep you up to date on personal injury news.
How Do You Calculate Rehabilitation Costs?
Colorado statutes allow motor vehicle accident survivors to pursue compensation for damages, including personal injuries and the ensuing rehabilitation costs. It is crucial to correctly calculate these, because
What To Do When Your Classic Car Suffers Catastrophic Damage
You've worked hard to restore your classic car. Whether it's a Model A, Mustang, Porsche, or another ride, your labor and love have restored it to glory and
Knowing the Law Is the Best Way To Avoid Speeding Tickets (And Accidents!)
Speed limits exist to keep motorists and pedestrians safe. Because different roads and routes have different hazards, the posted speed limits vary significantly. In Colorado, ignorance of the